Answered By: Mandy Steinberger Last Updated: Feb 11, 2017 Views: 101
If a requested journal article is available electronically via The British Library’s Secure Electronic Delivery (SED) service, it will be sent to you at the email address you included on your request form. If it cannot be provided electronically, then a paper copy will be supplied which is yours to keep.
When the SED document is ready for you to download, the email you receive will contain a web link to the requested material.
SED items - When you receive the email notification from The British Library, before clicking on the item link please be aware of the points below -
Once the email notification arrives, you will have 14 days to view the material.
After this time the link will no longer be live and you will be unable to access the document.
Due to copyright regulations, only one copy of the SED document can be printed and this must be done the first time the document is opened.
The document cannot be saved electronically.
You can forward the email notification before you open the link but once opened, you will only be able to view the material on that specific PC.
If you do not view the material within 14 days of receipt, you will have to request the item again via the Document Delivery Service.
Before printing the document
Ensure that printing is available from your PC before opening the document.
If using library computing facilities, check your printer credit balance before opening the document.
Viewing the document
To read your document you will need Adobe Reader version 4 or above with the FileOpen plug-in installed. You can get the plug-in by visiting http://plugin.fileopen.com.
You can download a test document to check that you can receive FileOpen documents.
If you get the error message ‘This printer is not allowed for secure printing’ while attempting to print an SED item please follow the steps outlined below.
To rectify the problem, click the Start button on bottom toolbar then select:
· All programs
· Adobe XI
· Preferences from the Edit menu
· Security (Enhanced)
· Then in the Sandbox Protections area of the screen, un-tick the Enable protected mode at startup box